Syncing data to cloud storage

You are here:
< All Topics

To synchronise your Reloading Studio data with your cloud storage account like Dropbox, OneDrive or Google One, al you need to do is create a new empty directory where you would like your data to be stored. And, change the ‘Data Directory’ value in the configuration file. After the value is updated, the application will move data to your new cloud storage directory.

Step 1: save data

Save all unsaved data.

Step 2: make a backup of your data

This is not required, but very strongly recommended. Regardless of the application, whenever you are working with live data, it’s a very good practice to make a backup copy first.

Backup…

Step 3: setup Google Backup and Sync, Dropbox or Microsoft OneDrive

To make an online copy of the application data, you first need to make use of online/cloud storage services. For example Google Backup and Sync, Dropbox or Microsoft OneDrive.

Installing and using this tools is out of scope for this article, however you will need one of these applications installed, configured and functioning correctly.

Step 4: Create destination directory

Under your main cloud storage directory (e.g. C:\Dropbox) create a dedicated directory for your Reloading studio data.

In this example we will name this directory: ‘reloading_studio_online_data’ (e.g. C:\Dropbox\reloading_studio_online_data). Do not manually copy this data to new directory.

Step 5: change application configuration (Data Directory)

After we’ve create a new data storage directory ‘reloading_studio_online_data’, we can now change the data directory form the application’s configuration screen:

 

Step 6: save changes

Click the save button to let the application know that the data directory has been changed. After you click the ‘Save’ button, Reloading Studio will automatically move all of your load data to a new ‘reloading_studio_online_data’ directory; and you will see your online storage application syncing data.

Step 6: restart the application

While not required, we recommend that you exit and restart the application.

Congratulations, you are done!

Table of Contents